Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Happy Wednesday!

TEETHING TEETHING TEETHING

My sweet Ms.O has been a bundle of teething moodiness lately! Luckily for Troy and I, that sweet little girl is such a happy little ham on the regular, the teething really doesn't seem that bad. If anything, we are more concerned with keeping her comfortable! She doesn't respond super well to oragel, and I'm stingy with tylenol so as to build up her tolerance for feeling a little under the weather. My body is super resistant to medicine, where as Troy hardly needs half an aspirin to pull right out of a flu. In my experience, I'm better off to only take medicine when I'm at my wits end, so that the relief can really make a difference. I want to start at an early age building her tolerance for pain, so that she can only take medicine when its necessary. That said, we have tried every home remedy for teething you can imagine! A big thank you to all of my facebook mommies and daddies, who gave such fantastic advice! I love facebook for that instant interaction! Of everything we've tried, Charlotte Olivia seems to react best to frozen pacifiers! Shes never been a paci baby, so we actually only owned three. We now own ten. I fill them with water, freeze, and pop them in that gummy little mouth any time shes fussy! Thanks for the fab idea Aimee! Her other fav is baby Mum Mums! They are these terrific little rice crackers that she just goes to TOWN on! I absolutely recommend these if your cub is hurting! They require more supervision because they do EAT the cracker, and there is always some sort of choking hazard with first foods, but at nearly 7 months, Charlie has never even sort of coughed with them. Now, shes shoved those paws too far in while chewing on the mum, and THEN coughed, but never on the product alone. I compare them to communion wafers. They dissolve almost immediately! Oh! I almost forgot! My silly, picky girl, is SO PICKY. She enjoyed the original Mum Mums for weeks. Then, I noticed they had veggie flavor, and let her try those. Since then, her daddy brought her home some original. She TOTALLY snubbed them, and had a COW when I kept handing them back to her. Of course, upon giving her the veggie flavor, she was back to cloud 9. REAL CUTE CHARLES ;)

Charlotte Olivia Scott 6 months Photo by: Richelle Saldana Photography

Last Saturday we went to Weatherford to celebrate my beautiful niece's 2nd birthday! Kylee Raye [named after her Aunt Samantha Raye!!!] was the only little girl amongst a sea of boys, before Charlotte Olivia was born. Melissa, my sister, has five gorgeous boys and my brother, Ben, has three plus Kylee. Since none of us have much experience with girls, Kylee is a wonder to watch grow. Shes absolutely a glimpse into our future with CO. Shes SUCH a little ranch baby. With her big brothers showing no mercy, that child has learned to hold her own. She will fight her brothers to the bitter end! Pulling hair, punching, yelling, the WORKS! There isn't a dog in the world she wont run up and grab and bugs are some of her favorite friends. I'm hoping Charlie is like that, as well. Kylee is one of the only little girls Ive known to be afraid of nothing! So, you can imagine our surprise when my brother and sister in law told the family that for her birthday, Kylee wanted DOLLS! That's incredibly out of character! At her party, my sweet little Kylee just tore into those gifts, and LOVED her girly little toys! She was feeding her babies, and giving them a paci, and sleeping them, and riding around on her brothers four wheeler with them! As we watched, I just imagined my little Charlie girl playing dolls, and baking in an easy bake oven, and watching the sound of music, and just being a GIRL! I'm so excited to have this adventure with her! 

Kylee opening gifts

Sweet Kylee Raye with her baby that looked SO real!!

Charlotte Olivia wearing her big cousin Mike's hat and playing with her Mama Lissa

Showing her big Mike that hes not too cool for her


Charlotte Olivia playing on Kylee's train

Hi MOM!

Sweet cousin Jon with his hands in his pockets!




  So, lets get down to business...

Dragrace was fantastic this week! The queens played the snatch game again this season, and while no one topped Pandora Boxx's Carol Channing from season 2, there were some standout performances! Raja was on point, as usual, as the larger than life, Tyra Banks! He totally smized for his LIFE! Stacy Layne Mathews, surprisingly, brought it as Monique. That said, she was totally predictable. Before the panel even reached her, I said to Daniel, Patrick, and Amber, "She should totally turn around toward the back and yell PRECIOUS!!!!" and, wouldn't you know it, she did. Haha. With a character like Monique, I think she could have taken it WAY farther, but compared to the rest of the queens, she was actually terrific. Shangela was a hot mess as Tina Turner, and Carmen's Jennifer Lopez was a snooze! Though the judges put Yara Sophia in the bottom for her Amy Winehouse, I died laughing at that HORRIFIC English accent. In the end, Stacey Layne won the challenge, beating out Raja who was also top three. This really got under my skin, because Stacy isn't on par with the other queens, she doesn't have a creative bone in her body, and shes a big ol crybaby! Im ready for her to go home to backswamp North Carolina! SPOILER ALERT!!! Now that you've been warned, it was Mariah who was sent packing after lip syncing [FOR HER LIFFFFE] against Delta Work. Mariah had her golden moments, but I'm totally on board for her departure. She skated on pretty. She did terrible as the QNN anchor last week, and her Joan Crawford this week was ATROCIOUS! She had no "crazy" in her character [DUH?!], and those cheek bones were a MESS. When it came time to lip sync, Ms Thing didn't even know the SONG! Three strikes and you're out boo ;) 

Tina....bring me the axe!
Ms Mariah from Atlanta
 
 So, I suppose that's it for today! A busy weekend lies ahead, as I'm working the WONDER WOMAN Level A Event at MAC Hulen Friday and Saturday! I'm so excited to work with those fab girls and beat some face! Have a superb rest of your week, readers!

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Its been nearly a MONTH since last post

So, its been obviously incredibly busy and hectic around this household! Ill try to roll all the important happenings into this post, and then get back in the blogging groove. I suppose I have some news...

TROY PROPOSED!

Yes, its true! My honey made me the happiest girl in this world on Feb 11th! After six long years, its no secret Ive been beyond ready to be Mrs. Scott! Charlotte Olivia is already a Scott, of course, and I suppose I did feel somewhat left out, as the only Montgomery left in the house. Not to mention, nothing irritated me more than talking about my "boyfriend." I live with my "boyfriend" and our daughter. Goodness gracious. As silly as it sounds, the word "boyfriend" just drove me crazy. It sounds to strangers like we met a few months ago! It give the impression of something not so secure. It certainly doesn't reflect one year of friendship and five years of dating. Most people are engaged by then, haha. 

Me at the start of dinner, with no clue how happy Ill be shortly...

Troy at the start of dinner. Laurie said his look says "I'm about to make her my wife..." 

  It was beautiful, and perfect. Troy has had the ring for some time, and I was clueless. He took me to one of our favorite steakhouses, The Wild Mushroom. They make fantastic steak, quail, and everything in between. We have had steak at so many different restaurants, and they still make the best New York Strip. He had let the staff in on his plans, so we were sat somewhat off on our own, right in front of the fireplace. We ate our entire meal laughing and talking as usual. At the end of our meal, we were both having a cup of coffee and wrapping it up. He told me how much he loved both me and Charlotte and talked about spending our lives together, focusing on our family and on making each other happy. Then, in front of a slew of people, he got down on one knee, pulled out a ring box, and asked me to be his wife. Then, I died. Haha, well, I started crying immediately and hugged him repeatedly before I finally choked out a "Yes!!" The chef rushed out and gave us champagne, took photos, and congratulated us. When we went outside, his mom was waiting to congratulate us. It was such a whirlwind of events, I honestly think I was in shock! We have set the date for August 18th, 2012! I'm in full planning mode and have already chosen my wedding party. I cant wait to become Mrs. Troy Scott and begin our journey as husband and wife. I love Troy more and more every day. While I never thought that even possible, he still manages to surprise me. 

Work has been intense!

Wedding season is in full swing, and ArtistrybySam has been swamped! I love being back to work, while still being a stay at home mommy! Ive had some of the funnest clients lately! I'm so blessed to be a part of people's wedding days! Especially, those who I went to school with. I think at our ten year reunion, I will have done the bridal makeup for half our graduating class! Its so neat to have a little part of these woman's most special day. I'm also SO excited, because I'm on the freelance list at MAC, helping them out where needed. My first event with them is next weekend, WONDER WOMAN LEVEL A EVENT! I'm beyond stoked to get behind the counter with the girls and have that "team" feeling every now and again. Plus, so many familiar faces! Hulen is my old stomping ground, so I'm excited to see the clientele! Ill be working alongside Catherine, Madison, Hanady, Mckenna, Debra, and the new team members. Being a freelance artist is SUCH a blessing, because while I make a generous living, I still get to plan my own schedule and hours. However, it gets lonely! The best part about my five years with MAC, was the girls. The team. The jokes, the music, the dancing, and creating art alongside other artistic people. That's something I do miss, greatly. I feel like working one or two weekends a months behind the counter will really fill that void for me without stifling my freedom. I feel so blessed to have a friendship with Catherine, who was excited to get me back on the list and work with me :)


CHARLIES Vday/6 Month PICS!

Oh lord, I cant even talk about these pictures. The AMAZINGLY TALENTED Richelle Saldana of Richelle Saldana Photography has outdone herself! This fantastic photog has worked with many of my brides, and was introduced to me while I was pregnant with Charlotte Olivia. She did our pregnancy photos, and is also doing our engagement, bridal, and wedding photos. Her style is crisp and fresh and shes a doll, to boot. CharlieO was sleepy during the shoot, as I couldn't get her to catch a good nap that morning, but Richelle got loads of shots over a short time. I danced like a lunatic to make my girl laugh and smile, and she did well for mom. I told Richelle, I felt like toddlers and tiaras, but she assured me I was nowhere near so crazy. I think at this age, getting her pictures done is important! I want to remember her development at each milestone age, not to mention, the photos can go out to family and friends to see how shes growing. Ill always have them in her baby book for her to look back on, also. We haven't gotten all the shots back yet, but here are the three we HAVE got! 


Charlotte Olivia Scott Valentine's Day 2011/ 6 months old
If you have any special occasion coming up, I highly recommend this amazing photographer. She has so many outfits, props, everything! She makes both adults and children feel at ease and that makes the experience so much more fun! My beautiful little Ms.O, she is her mommy and daddy's sweetest valentine! 


So, lets talk TV ;)

Monday Night- RuPaul's Dragrace Season3
Troy and I have been watching dragrace since season 1, and honestly, this is one of the best shows we have ever seen. Its funny, fearless, inspiring, and groundbreaking! This season Monday Nights at the Scott house are a celebration! Daniel and Patrick come every week and Amber comes when she can make it! Now, both previous seasons, our "horse" for the season has made the top three, but never won [RAVEN WAS ROBBED!]. This season, Ive chosen Raja to take the title of America's Next Drag Superstar! Shes a total bitch, but shes on point! Of course, I'm partial to this fashion MECCA because hes a professional makeup artist, and his transformations are totally terrific. Not a queen alive can hold a candle to his creativity and execution. While we adore Shangela in this house, Ms Watley just cant execute. I also have a soft spot for Ms Carmen Carrera, because that body is just too much. In the words of Alexis Mateo, "Ms. Carmen, you better be naked."

The Queens giving me face! WORK WORK WORK!


 
Well, obviously too much has gone on in the last month to cover it all, but I'm back on the blogging train, and wont slack nearly as much!!     All the love in my heart to you and those you love, readers :)