Be careful what you wish for.
Yesterday, I mentioned my current challenge of getting Charlotte Olivia into her crib. As I said, Ive been having her spend a lot more time in there, but always with me within her line of vision. Ill read in a chair next to her or clean my makeup supplies while she either naps in there or plays with her toys. Well, last night she ate dinner, took a bath, and I laid her down in the crib. I swaddled her, turned on soft music, and turned off everything but a night light near her. I fully expected a fight, but my main concern was "proving my point." I set a timer in the kitchen for ten minutes, and figured I would let her cry it out for ten minutes, tops, and if she hadn't fallen asleep by then, I would go in and sleep her.
Well. My big girl went to sleep. On her own. And she slept through the night.
I was so incredibly proud of her! This morning, though, she fussed for me when she woke up. I am so happy she slept sweetly and comfortably in her bed, don't misunderstand. However, when I laid her down for her nap this afternoon, she was out on her own within minutes, and I left the room to clean. I listened for her on her monitor, and glanced in on her every ten minutes or so. Suddenly, I realized it had been something like an hour or longer, and she wasn't awake. I went in to make sure she was alright, and she was wide awake, just laying in her bed quietly playing with her toys. She didn't even need her old mom to come get her! This is the first time shes woken up alone and hasn't fussed for me. Of course I'm happy, proud, relieved, etc--but I suppose I just didn't think it would "work" so soon! My baby isn't quite a baby anymore, shes well on her way to toddler status. Shes such a big, beautiful, smart and growing girl. I think it just hit me, that its full steam ahead. I cant pause her or keep her tiny. Shes only getting more advanced and more independent and I guess It just finally sunk in, that I wont ever experience "baby" again. At least, not until my Charlie has a little one of her own, and I get to play grandma. Oh my sweet Charlotte O, how I love you so :)
As for our healthy eating...
Its going fantastically! Last night, I baked Cajun chicken breasts and boiled Cajun seasoned lobster! I had never cooked lobster before, so I was a bit nervous. I figure confidence in cooking will only come from trial and error, though, so I googled some boiling instructions and found that cooking a lobster is a breeze! I had them done in a little under ten minutes, and they were tender and delicious! The chicken alongside made for a nice twist on a surf and turf, and I served the double meat dish with a veggie rice pilaf. Troy and I both love condiments, so I melted him some butter for the lobster and I enjoyed picante sauce and guacamole on everything! It was super good! CharlieO ate in her highchair alongside us. She enjoyed rice cereal, peas, and apples. Troy swore she doesn't like peas, but she seemed to eat them fine for me :)
Tonight, I'm planning a bacon wrapped filet migon with a fresh veggie medley!
And now, some pictures of CharlieO enjoying dinner last night, and playing in her crib today!
| hurry it up mom! |
| mmm rice cereal! |
| I know in order to get my apples, I've gotta eat my peas! |
| ok, now hand over the fruit!! |
| our little fuzz head rolling around in her crib |
| look at those hamhocks! |
| big smiles while she grabs her toys with her feet! |
Sam
I am SO happy she is happy in her crib!! Yay for her sleeping through the night too! You're such a great mom Sam! Love you x
ReplyDelete