Ok, I admit it: I watch a lot of TV. Id like to say I'm so busy being active and healthy, I just cant find the TIME for television, but that's a big fat lie. Even if I just let the television run in the background while I clean house, I'm still trying to catch a chuckle from "The Office" reruns while I'm vacuuming. I figure Ill give you guys a glimpse of my media addictions, because I rant about the outcomes of my weekly shows the morning after each airs. Always. :) Granted, I used to think I could go the rest of my life without TV! When I was hospitalized for two months during my pregnancy with Charlotte, though, I wised up! Being stuck in that hospital bed, every day, all the time; left me without much choice! I imagine once shes at a more mobile age, she and I will be on the move more on weekdays, but while we still live in the land of "supported sitting," Ill enjoy my weekly trash! Now, of course, these shows switch up by season, but here's whats airing now!
Wednesday Night
Hells Kitchen- The finale of this season airs tonight, and what a season its been! While I'm at least smart enough to know a lot of Gordon Ramsey's ranting and raving is to bring in the ratings, it doesn't make this show any less entertaining! These chefs are competing for an executive position, paying a quarter of a million dollars yearly, but sometimes it seems like they re as clumsy in the kitchen as I am! The garnish is bland, the chicken is aways raw, and I'm convinced scallops are the most difficult food item to cook, ever. The mistakes are so mundane, Id be screaming like a loon, too. The drama runs high, which I could honestly do without. By the end, though, I normally love a finalist and loathe the other. This season, HK lost me at Jillian. The two finalist are both less passionate and generally way more irritating. MAY THE BEST MAN WIN! ;)

Top Chef: All Stars- Ok, I'm a top chef fangirl! I love the shows format, Padma, and Tom gets a little better looking to me every time I see him. We own a few seasons, and Troy and I agree, Vegas has been the best to date. This season just began, and episode 3 airs tonight. While I'm totally excited to see the level of competition and the caliber of food made [these are the past contestants who ALMOST made it], I have to say I lost some excitement for the season when my horse, Jenn from Vegas, was sent home SECOND! Poor girl made a huge scene upon being sent home, and while I normally frown upon that sort of thing, I felt she was absolutely justified! Jenn is one of the most talented Chef's of any Top Chef season, and her worth ethic is really on a whole other level. I think they made an example of her. The entire cast, and clearly the judges, expected Jenn to make it to the finals. Her dish last week was lacking, though, and I think they wanted to hammer home the "No one is safe from "packing up your knives and go-ing" message. I promised you rants, though, and here's mine: Jenn's partner left before they even began their dish because she had a MINOR cut on her finger. Unlike every other chef, Jenn tackled a two part dish ALONE and without complaint. Other members of her team brought up bad, undercooked, or over seasoned dishes, but they did it between two chefs! Not to mention, Tom's words to Tre were, "Your sauce was over reduced, salty, and RUINED the entire dish." If he was the sole problem of his dish, why wasn't he sent home? He only had one component to make, and he apparently, "ruined" it. Bottom line: Tre should have hit the road, and Jenn should be making her way to finals. Do you know, with Jenn gone, SPIKE could win! Or, God forbid...Dale! So, since my original horse has hit the hay, I now place my money on Richard. But, he COULD cut that hair some...
 |
| Hey, we are law and order SVU and we like to superimpose |
Law and Order: SVU- This comes on on Wednesday nights, too. We have been huge fans since season 1 of SVU, before Ice-T even and his TERRIFIC acting even GOT there. Har Har. Hes still on the show ten seasons later, so clearly the rest of the show must be fantastic for us to still be watching, right? Well, that may not ring true anymore. SVU has always had the same format, since figuring out what worked around season 2. Unfortunately, they've decided to fix what wasn't broken. Now, instead of focusing on one case per episode, leaving you with either a verdict or some sort of comparable closure, they are doing this weird soap opera, thing. They've been going on and on for years about Benson wanting a husband and family, but for dramatic reasons, every time poor Mariska has a date, Dan Florek catches her and the rest of the "gang" at the elevator to tell them some case they didn't have before, is now their responsibility and it'll take the next 48 hours to complete it. So, she always cancels her date and then catches a half hour of sleep in the crib. Poor Benson. Shes never ever gone home, apparently. I guess this season they realized they didn't plan on having the sexual tension between she and Stabler explode all over the station, so they wrote her this other bogus story line. Something about Desmond from LOST, a victim who just up and leaves her son with Benson, and bing, bang, boom- instant kid! Or something. Clearly, these episodes are piling up unwatched on our DVR. Maybe the next time I mention this show, the blog titled will be, "Confessions of an irritated mom: How Dick Wolf ruined Wednesday night TV."
Friday Night

Ghost Adventures- I live for Friday Night. Ghost Adventures is, however silly the fellas are, the best ghost show on television, hands down. Ghost Hunters has a team of at least 36 investigators, and a production team of probably 78. With all those people romping around the location, they attribute EVERYTHING to "people noise." Here's an idea: LOSE ALL THE UNNECESSARY PEOPLE TO AVOID PEOPLE NOISE. They refuse to offend these ghosts in anyway, so I'm convinced the ghosts just ignore them. They never, ever, catch anything notable. When they do, Ive fallen asleep by then. Paranormal State is CLEARLY a staged mess, and all the others focus entirely too much on mediums, and them explaining all of this crazy activity only THEY are able to see. Lucky you. The GA crew, though, consists of three! They are a laughable bunch, for sure, but it almost makes them lovable. The production isn't Avatar style, but we are talking a show filmed by three handheld cameras. Id rather keep all the human interference to a minimum, anyway. They go completely lights out and they taunt these things to the point of getting them on film or audiotape, and probably, to the point of getting one of these guys possessed. Ha. Its all in good fun, but the show genuinely scares us! We turn out all the lights and by the time the episode ends, we have to watch rugrats, or something equally inoffensive to calm us down. Season 3 is airing now, and is by far the best!
Netflix
We stream netflix live on our xbox, and there are just entirely too many gems there not to list a few of my favorites. If you don't pay the 7.99 a month to stream netflix on your xbox or wii, I cant encourage you enough to make the investment! Its 9.99 to add DVD mail delivery, but we honestly don't feel its necessary with the huge amount already available. Most movies are available, so just assume those are implied. All TV shows have entire seasons available, most have all released seasons of said show. Some of our favs:
- Lockdown
- Dexter
- The Office
- Rugrats
- Rockos Modern Life
- Say Yes to the Dress
- Ghost Adventures
- Man Vs Food
- LOST
- Penn and Teller BS!
- Dog the Bounty Hunter
- Lock n Load with R. Lee Ermey
Zune
We also steam Zune live from xbox live. The shows and movies here are purchased with Microsoft Xboxlive Points. These can be added to your xbox live account by credit card or by "gift cards" that can be purchased at target, wal-mart, gamestop, etc. I mention Zune for two reasons:
- Salute Your Shorts [really? REALLY? you know you want to]
- The Boondocks [Regina King is Emmy worthy as both Riley and Huey Freeman. The show approaches racial topics comically. But, If you aren't laughing WITH the masterminds behind this tv show based on a comic, please just don't watch.]
And So, ends my current TV obsessions. America's Next Top Model, and Project Runway only JUST missed this blog post...maybe next season!
Charlotte O had a great night, sleeping all the way through. She takes her bath between 6:45 and 7:20, depending on her mood, and I sleep her immediately afterward. Even on her latest nights, shes normally out by 8:00. Last night was an early one, and she was down before 7:30. I changed her diaper twice overnight, but shes to the point of sleeping through it now. She snacked on a bottled around 4am, but not long enough to finish. She was ready to get up and get moving this morning, and her mood has been fantastic! I plan to spend the rest of the day with her playing, and forcing myself to FINISH THE CHRISTMAS CARDS, before they become New Year cards! Maybe more blogging later, as I don't know how comfortable I am dedicating an entire day's post to my television habits.
I don't pretend to be perfect ;)
Sam