Thursday, December 16, 2010

A couple things Im irked about

  The new version of Facebook:
  • I am not one bit concerned about how silly that sounds, to anyone. The new version of facebook is ruining my online experience. I'm a huge Mark Zuckerberg fan. Yesterday when they announced his being TIME's person of the year, a lot of people scoffed at the outcome; going into rants about all of the other/better options. I say, oh brother, calm down. I consider things from a very realistic, but optimistic point of view. Realistically, more people in this country use, discuss, hate, love, or are addicted to, their facebook. I can honestly say, the majority of people I know, from all walks of life, have a facebook. We put him there. Don't hate the player, hate the game. So I say, congratulations Zuck, enjoy! No, really, i actually SAID something along those lines both offline and on twitter yesterday. So, why then, do I wake up to this today? I use my facebook a lot, but more for work than people realize. I do have a website, but as stated about: EVERYONE IS ON FACEBOOK! Ive gotten more work from my facebook than from my website, for sure. Its the holidays. I'm getting messages there left and right from clients, friends who want to be clients, and clients who want to be friends. Either way, I want people to know I appreciate their business and their interest in my work. I really hate making my clients wait, for anything. ESPECIALLY, a response. The new version is so buggy, it isn't even running so i can answer messages! I can count many things about it that bother me. For example, you cant even begin a new paragraph in a comment. They've removed the comment button. So, you see, if you press enter, it posts your comment. While easier (I guess, is it really that much easier than pressing "comment??"), it forces you to write HUGE paragraphs when participating in a thread discussion! Geez, do you guys want me to start writing this blog without any paragraph breaks? Yah, cool. Good idea. 
  • Id tell you more things I don't like. However, since it freezes my perfectly capable computer anytime I pull it up in a browser, and wont work on my IPhone 4; neither as an app, or in the browser, I guess I don't even know everything I don't like about it yet. Ill get back to you if it ever loads again. 
Its a wrap! I'm done with facebook. at least until it stops making my computer act like its still got Oregon Trail on it.


Graphic Documentaries, specifically those discussing the abuse of children:

  • I can safely say Ive always had a pretty strong stomach. I really enjoy documentaries, in particular, about crime. The court system, law, reason, human mind and capability--it all interests me very much. I have seen countless docs on crimes against children. I hadn't seen any since the birth of Charlotte Olivia, though. This morning I watched, or rather, tried to watch one called, "Deliver us from Evil." It was a compiling of information about a priest who had hurt both little boys and little girls. I was cleaning and just listening in the background, as Charlie was sleeping, and I literally couldn't stand to hear any of it described, even in the most vague fashion. I had to turn it off. Quickly. The language used was so atomically correct, and PC, I'm sure to make people feel more comfortable. The euphemisms weren't enough. Ive never felt so strongly disgusted, scared, and angry at something that didn't have anything to do with me. I'm incredibly surprised with myself, because this is very out of character for me. I haven't been able to stop thinking about the small bit I heard, since I heard it hours ago. Has this happened to any readers? I mean, has anyone experienced such a significant change in what you can handle, after the birth of your child? The thought of her ever being hurt, in anyway, is almost paralyzing to me. Id be interested in knowing if other moms and dads have experienced something similar. 

Well, i guess that's it for now, but more hopefully this evening about our day.

Sam

No comments:

Post a Comment